The Ugly Onion Pizza

by Fresh and Frugal

Ugly Onion PizzaSo I should have started with something a little healthier, and a little less doused in cheese, I’m sure. Something prettier would have done just fine, but I gotta be honest with you. Last night I was exhausted, having battled my way to work and back via SEPTA, Philadelphia’s public transportation system, and instead of arriving home at a timely 5:30 or 5:45, I hurtled through the door sometime after 7:30. Believe it or not, losing two hours from my night really really throws me off.

Withered basilAt work I had already decided on the onion. In effort to make the most of my ugly, two week old baggied onion, I placed it on the counter and stared it down for what probably wound up being 20 minutes or so. What else did I have to use up? What else is borderline icky? My poor plants… Bingo! plucking a few of the dry, withered leaves of basil from the plant, I now had an onion and basil, and what does basil (inevitably and immediately) bring to mind? PIZZA!

The Ugly Onion Itself

Confession: I forgot to mention that there’s also always a hunk of TJ’s herbed pizza crust in my freezer. I know, I should make my own dough, and I will at some point, I swear, but last night was the exact reason that I keep it in the freezer. Anyway, so from there, I raided fridge and freezer, until satisfied with toppings. Unfortunately, in effort to pay attention to a television show while topping the pizza, I did get a bit carried away  (omigod so totally carried away) with the cheese. A light sprinkling will most definitely do.  That is, unless you’re like me and pretend to not care about your waistline.

Ugly Onion Pizza

1/2 large white onion (preferably ugly)

1 hunk pizza dough

1 c mozzarella cheese

1/4 c parmesan-romano cheese

2 small cloves garlic

1 handful withered basil leaves

salt and pepper to taste

-Preheat oven to 400. If you have a pizza stone then do wha’cha gotta do and if not, nonstick your baking sheet. Roll out your dough (I shot for a rough rectangle because I like the idea of an un-circular pizza).

-Chop the garlic and slice the onion into ribbons, cross-ways. Pop the baking sheet (with dough) into the preheated oven for a few minutes to let it start to puff up, but before it starts to become golden.

-Remove the crust, and layer on the toppings. Place back into the oven for another 10+ minutes, until the cheese is gently bubbling and crust is golden-brown.

Since TJ’s didn’t  restock the arugula, this week I’m working with baby spinach, so that’s what I topped and snarfed the pizza with.

