Slow Burn

by Fresh and Frugal

Summer Squash Spaghetti

Psych! No burning today guys, though I’ll admit that I did burn the [nix!] out of the roof of my mouth last night on a scalding (but oh so delicious!) tuna melt.  I’m not going to write about that tonight though. There are a few things I’ve been meaning to tell you, and those are so much more interesting than my whining, I promise.

CutCo knife from my brother

First and foremost: a giant thank you to my brilliant brother and his compendium of merchandise. Lets be honest folks. I do not, in any universe, have the money for my own personal cast of cooking knives. Nevertheless, the set of knives that my mother and I found on sale for $25 dollars roughly 4 years ago have begun to rust. Yes, they are literally rusting in places, by absolutely no fault of my own. My loving, genius, adorable– er, I mean, handsome — brother not only recommended a knife to replace the dull french chef knife that came in my own set, but the blade on the new one is serrated: all the better to cut through tomato skins without spurting tomato juice all over myself! There’s a reason he’s a CutCo manager!  I also can’t forget my dad, who leaped into action and drove an hour to my brother’s office to pick up the knife and then an hour to get it back to me before I left home to return to the city last weekend. So thanks, guys. Dunno how my new acquisitions would survive without you.

Heirloom Tomatoes

Speaking of new acquisitions, I splurged today. No, seriously. There’s a mini-farmers-market outside the university bookstore, directly behind the library every Wednesday afternoon from 11-2. I had never been, but knew I ought to check it out for all of you lovely foodies out there (okay, so I heard the guy who sells tomatoes is painfully attractive), and made an appearance at lunch with my friend Kristen. I came away 5 minutes later — literally — with a bag full of tomatillos, mini roma tomatoes, and three heirloom tomatoes. Like a child, I couldn’t bear to wait another minute to pop one of the smaller varieties into my salivating mouth. Remember how acidic tomatoes are? Remember my freshly-scorched mouth? Ohhhhhh it hurt so good.

Total Splurge

My last little miscellaneous blip for the day concerns two more of my friends, who have basically insisted we make a trip to Reading Terminal Market, tentatively scheduled for Sunday. I’ve been promised everything I can carry crammed into giant bags that I’ll have to carry with both hands for a mere $20, supposedly enough to get me through the week. Even the experienced foodies I know just rave about their findings at Reading Terminal.  I’m picturing my hefty jute-woven bag from Tesco crammed to the gills, the tops of leeks and carrots spilling out from the edges, a baguette tucked under my arm, maybe even a wedge of cheese or a small lump of hard salami (sweet indulgence!) peeking up to wave at passersby.

Heirloom Tomatoes

Tomatillos

Finally, to the recipe and a short explanation. This is what came of Sunday, when I arrived home from Indiana. Tired and just craving some pasta, I grabbed the other CutCo tool I own: the most wonderful peeler on the planet. Remember that pair of yellow summer squash? One of them was ribboned, dropped into a bowl with a splash of water and (dare I even say it?!) microwaved, topped with a handful of cheese and chives, and gulped down. Gotta admit, it was just perfect. I’m sure you could really use any kind of peeled veggie here. Wouldn’t the colors be prettier with eggplant and zucchini/corgettes in there, too? Anyway, it’s delicious, warm, simple, and healthy.

Tomatillo

Summer Squash Spaghetti

1 medium summer squash

1 teaspoon fresh chives (though I had to use freeze dried)

1/4 c water

light sprinkling of parmesan cheese and/or romano cheese

Thoroughly wash your squash, then use a peeler and long strokes to create ribbons, or “noodles”. Deposit in bowl (it can be messy!).

Pour 1/4 c water into bowl and microwave for up to 2 minutes (or you could be schmancy and steam it over boiling water in one of those handy steamers, which I do not yet own).  When hot, remove from microwave and drain.

Sprinkle with cheese and chives or other herbs, and serve nice and hot. I could see butter or a little splash of olive oil on there or even some salt, but to be honest, it was perfect as it was, for what I was craving.

