Roast Me Up, Buttercup

by Fresh and Frugal

If my kitchen came equipped with a toaster oven, I swear my electric bill would be cut in half. I cannot even begin to emphasize just how much I love to roast things: chicken, beef (when I touch it), tomatoes, zukes, brie tucked in a flaky dough… Really, I would eat just about anything roasted. So what do you think I did when it came about that one of the few things left in my fridge from last week which needs to be finished off relatively rapidly is broccoli? Dang straight. I roasted it.

Like anything else you ever plan to roast, there are only two other food items I’d suggest you use in addition to the roast-ee: olive oil and garlic. Then again, there’s very little in this world that doesn’t taste better with a few drops of olive oil and a sprinkling of garlic. So this freed me up to finish the The DaVinci Code, which I fell asleep during last night. What is it about that scene in the Swiss bank that just lulls me to sleep? At any rate, I turned on the television and Tom Hanks was standing there with Audrey Tautou, staring down at a blue screen.

The best part of my week so far has been the all-too-short trip to Reading Terminal Market with Shana this afternoon. Sweating (and rather panting) like a dog in the ridiculous heat wave that’s been slamming the East coast for some time now, we bobbed and weaved between one slick body and the next, snatching beautiful, cheap, fresh food where we could get it. I cannot thank her enough for exposing me to this place. Honestly. For $25.00, most of the week’s grocerying was finished! All that’s left are a handful of things from the dairy section, and I did blank out on grabbing carrots and radishes. The list of snagged food is below, then the recipe for roasting … well, anything!

New Produce: 2 pints cherry tomatoes, one bag of limes ($1.00!), 3 lemons, 3 peaches, 2 pints strawberries (2/$3.00!), 8 large white mushrooms, 2 pints blueberries ($2/4.00!), 1 ear white corn, 1 romaine lettuce head, 1 small bunch of chives, 1 suntan pepper, 2 kirby cucumbers, 2 Fuji apples, 1 mango (.89!), 1 red onion, 1 bulb garlic, 3 regular onions, and 2 purple potatoes.

Roasted Broccoli

2 pounds broccoli (once separated from stalk)

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

coarse salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 or 400, and foil-line a baking sheet or pan.

Drop the broccoli into a bowl, add the olive oil, and shake/mix to coat. Sprinkle in the salt and pepper, and shake/mix s’more.

Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes, remove, and serve immediately.

