Ripened Tomato Salad

by Fresh and Frugal

What ever happened to relaxing on Sunday? At home, the whole family lies around, feet up, television/computer on. The cleaning and errands and shopping had been done the day before and all that remains for Sunday is a late brunch that always amazes with minimal effort (thanks mom), and either a simple dinner or dinner out. The only annoyance I can recall from living at home was being chased from reading in a nook on the couch in the quiet living room when someone switches on the television. This is the kind of Sunday I just live for.

Today, due to some poor planning of my own yesterday, is not so quiet and calm. After accidentally staying up until 2am reading a fantastic book (thanks to Caitlin and mom for the recommendation and Grandma for actually loaning me the book), I passed out until 6:00am, at which point I rolled over and promptly went back to sleep. Waking late, I finished cleaning the bathroom and kitchen, straightened a bit downstairs, made a list of things I still had to do and get, and hit the road for Target and a general grocery store for eggs, cheese, milk, and vinegar.

I should also mention that I am hovering over my phone and email, praying for a reply from a friend who has been planning  a birthday-icecream party for months, which I have been dying to go to. Unfortunately, I completely blanked on asking for her address the last time I saw her, and since my phone had reset itself when I was at home, I also lost her phone number. I emailed her earlier this morning though, in a desperate and somewhat far-fetched attempt to contact her. Fingers crossed she checks her email soon! So far only one of the people I know who are going to this party has given me her number, and she hasn’t answered my desperate plea for the address of this party. Well, I still have 45 minutes.

So here I am, back home, staring at these heirloom tomatoes I’ve had since last Wednesday. There’s a hunk of mozzarella in my hand. I KNOW! So it was only a matter of time before I was happily munching away on my tomatoes, little mozzarella lumps, and basil slices. The fantastic thing about this is that salt is unnecessary! I’m sure you’re sick of hearing about it, but there is very little in this world better than vine-ripened, fresh, local tomatoes.

Tomato, Mozzarella, and Basil Salad

3 lbs. ripe tomatoes

1 lb. mozzarella cheese

1 handful basil leaves

Wash tomatoes and slice into bite-sized pieces. Slice the mozzarella into pieces, if you haven’t bought those lovely little mozzarella balls. Finally, roughly chop/shred the basil on top, and mix everything together well. That’s it! No oil, no salt, just flavor.

