Splendid Summer Salad

by Fresh and Frugal

To all of you who know me, this is the post you’ve been waiting for. Remember how Bubba is in Forest Gump with shrimp? I’m like that with corn: creamed corn, blended corn, corn soup, corn sauce, corn dip, corn muffins, hot corn salad, corn on the cob, corn off the cob, corn with butter, corn fritters, cornbread, corn dogs, raw corn, red corn, blue corn, sweet corn… I could go on and on, but will save you the trouble of reading it all.


In the great wind-up for spring break or the explosion of summer, I tend to eat salad. Every day. This is a habit I picked up from Caitlin and didn’t drop unless I happened to have leftovers for lunch.  Well guess what? I think I’ve had my fill of lettuce for at least a few days, and it’s a welcome change already, especially because we’re just hitting that time of year where for a few blessed weeks, nearly everything is in season. For instance, this past weekend was one magnificent(ly cheap) find after another at Reading Terminal Station, from pints of strawberries for $1 to $1 avocados, and was even rewarded with a handful of free pluots (which were on sale anyway) from the cashier. Which reminds me, I really ought to make a tart…


Like many things, what I whipped up last night was a kitchen sink construction (not to be confused with The Kitchen Sink, though I think I may have seen something similar on her site at one point), meaning I basically threw everything in that looked decent, save…? That’s right, the kitchen sink. Everything from black olives to tomatoes (surprise), to chiles and carrots and… Sometimes I get a little carried away. I think last night was one of these occasions, but it all turned out well enough, because now I don’t need to worry about leftovers or your standard lettuce-lettuce-lettuce salad, the ingredients being heaped into a large metal mixing bowl adding up to enough food for at least four people. Sometimes I wish someone lived near enough to take excess food off my hands for me.

Raw Sweet Corn Salad

4 ears of sweet corn, raw

1 small can black beans

1 pint cherry/grape tomatoes

3 narrow carrots

3 radishes

1 small cucumber (to sub for a zuke)

1/2 red onion

1 small can black olives

2 avocadoes

1 large handful fresh parsley, roughly chopped

3 limes (for juice)

1 clove garlic

1 tsp red peper flakes

1/2 tsp salt

Start peeling, chopping, and slicing! With a very sharp knife and being very careful, slice the fresh corn from the ears. Next, drain and rinse the black beans until the water runs clear, then top the corn with them.

Wash the carrots, cucumber, and radishes, then cut them up and add to the top. Tomatoes next, then red onion.

It’s gonna sound weird, but peel and finely chop the garlic, add that, then sprinkle in the salt and red pepper flakes, dry.

Finally, peel and slice the avocado, roughly chop and add the parsley, and to top it all off, use the lime juice.  Eat immediately or the avocado is gonna turn brown. Eeeewwww…

Note: microwaving limes for 5 seconds makes them juicier. So does rolling them between the counter and your palm, working them in a few directions right before slicing them in half and squeezing the heck out of ’em.

