Cranberry Bean Antipasti

by Fresh and Frugal

One of my aunts told me once, when we were spending a lovely few days of summer in Canada, that “we eat with our eyes”. Until she explained what she meant, I thought she was a little off. The more variety of color or the more unusual the color or shape, the more interested we become and the greater our appetite. The more I poke through food blogs, eat out, think and talk about food, the more right she seems to be. Remember that pluot tart? Such a brilliant reddish-purple! That’s one of the prime examples, of what I’m talking about, I think.

When it comes to culinary tastes, I fully admit to being completely in love with Italian: the native foods, the way food is considered, the active lifestyle, the markets, the pace… Given the chance, I’d happily move there. In my not-quite-wildest dreams, I take a pair of good jeans, my 5 favorite shirts, two dresses, and a cardigan, stuff them in a suitcase. Then my laptop is popped into my backpack, along with my wallet, favorite book, and a large empty notebook with a pen and pencil.  Arrangements for my cooking things to be boxed and shipped when I know where I’m settling, and send Kitty to live with his Grandma and Grandpa (my folks). Months, however long I please, in Italy with the food and the water and the people and the air and the history.

This dish is something I wrote down in a notebook a long time ago, though I’m not sure where exactly it comes from. Even though it calls for generic beans, these cranberry beans are giant, are beautiful, and a lovely texture for lying in olive oil, lemon, and parsley. Yes, that is literally all there is to it. This was my late-afternoon lunch today, perfect after finding a gorgeous new pair of jeans.

Cranberry Bean Antipasti

1 c cranberry beans, peeled from their shells

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 lemon

sprinkling of fresh parsley

sprinkling of salt, to taste.

Shell and rinse the beans, then boil for 20+ minutes, until no longer mealy.

Drain, drizzle lightly with olive oil. Squeeze lemon over, then sprinkle with salt and parsley. Enjoy!

Note: This would be good at any temperature. In summer, I like to make the beans early, then let them chill in the fridge before snarfing. Room temperature would be good, too.

