Caitlin’s Decadent Slow-Scrambled Eggs

by Fresh and Frugal

Caitlin is an absolutely amazing woman. Not only does she have a mind like a steel trap (she can describe the flags of a zillion nations), is she tall like me, absolutely gorgeous, hilarious, driven, and fantastic, but she knows food. I mean, if Caitlin had a food blog, I would make every item she posts. Everything. Seriously. Everything.

Of all the things I learned to cook for breakfast, which really aren’t many, Caitlin’s slow-scrambled eggs are the first thing I want to make when there’s enough time. Just to give you an idea, I skipped an 8 am breakfast after an hour of yoga in order to get my errands finished before the droves come out (remember what I said last Sunday?). ¬†Finally crawling home after waiting for the 48 for more than an hour with an armful of fresh produce, my first thought was not I gotta hurry up and throw in the laundry! but eggseggseggseggseggseggs… So I cracked a few eggs, mixed ’em up with a little love, and threw them into the pan.

The most important part of Caitlin’s eggs, I think, is keeping them slow. Yes, I know you’re hungry. Yes, I’m sure your night was rougher than mine and you just want to line your stomach, but these — ho buddythese are worth every second of waiting. These are the reason to get out of bed on a Sunday morning. If I ever (God forbid) get married, hubby is definitely going to have to learn how to make these, and I’ll hopefully score a breakfast in bed with Caitlin’s eggs as the main course!

Caitlin’s Decadent Slow-Scrambled Eggs

(A friend came over, so I doubled this recipe.)

2 large eggs

2 tbsp heavy cream/half’n’half/whole milk

Dash of red pepper flakes (if you like it spicy)

Salt and pepper to taste

One slice of heavily buttered toast (after all, this is decadent)

Crack the eggs into a bowl, adding the milk, pepper flakes, salt, and pepper. Whisk it all together (I prefer fork to whisk in this case) and pour it into a pan.

Place the pan on a burner and turn that burner on to the lowest possible setting. Remember, these are meant to be slow scrambled eggs, so you shouldn’t really see anything happening for the first 20 minutes or so.

After about 30 minutes, you should see small curds forming. Stir it up using a spatula, scraping the bottom carefully, and then use the tip of your spatula to break up the curds (any solid, cooked egg). Keep doing this every 5 minutes or so for the next 20-30 minutes.

When the eggs start to glop together pretty well (though they’ll still be a thick but slightly runny consistency) sprinkle in some parmesan cheese. Stir them again.

While the cheese is slowly melting into the eggs, pop your piece of toast in the toaster, heavily butter it, and scrape the eggs either onto your toast on a plate or beside it. Hands down, this is the best breakfast I’ve ever eaten. Thanks, Caitlin!

