Courgette Fritters

by Fresh and Frugal

This is another story that starts with Caitlin and ends with one knife, one girl, and a buncha food. Before she left, Caitlin always talked about the free library and how much time she’d spend there, exchanging books every weekend and camping out at Whole Foods, reading. I’ve been meaning to see the courthouse-like building for some time, but finally got the nerve after Terra and I had a glorious little picnic in the  Azalea Garden, behind the Art Museum. Below are some of the lovely pictures from our short walk down there and our sit.

Anyway, back to the story. So I finally made it in, after a long, rain-soaked walk with Terra and hunted down the cook book section. Even though I was looking for Good to the Grain, I wandered out with The Zuni Cafe Cookbook, Chez Panisse Vegetables, and Jamie Oliver’s Italy cookbook. Flipping through each book slowly and carefully, reading each recipe word by word, I flipped the back cover of Oliver’s book shut and knew when I saw Spaghetti Fritters, that I wanted to give it a go. But I don’t have any spaghetti… ZUKES!

What I wound up with felt a little more like a very dense handful of frittatas than a fritter, but I completely blame the courgette-water for that. Despite my repeated attempts to completely dry it out after grating it, there was still too much water wedged in the summer squash. I should have just left out the two egg whites that Jamie says to add, but .. well, I’ll give it a go later this year or maybe next. They were still outrageously tasty, though.

I can’t claim this idea as my own, but it stemmed from Rachel’s (check out my blogroll: Rachel Eats) peaches in wine. I left work dying for a tall, thin glass of sangria, packed with apples and peaches and oranges, but alas! I had none of those fruits left. I did, however, have a tiny honeydew melon so made a pitstop at a little Wine and Spirits store  near Reading Terminal Station. See the reoccurring theme, here? Anyway, I picked an incredibly (but naturally) sweet white and popped two slices of honeydew in for dessert. Mmmm!

Oh, and a quick aside: After a brief word with tall-dark-and-beefy, the most beautiful man I’ve ever seen call himself Farmer (and as we all know, that’s something, since I’m from Indiana: the land of corn and cattle), he agreed to bring in some squash blossoms for me next week. If, that is, I remember to call and remind him. Somehow I don’t think I’ll be forgetting this any time soon.

Courgette Fritters

A tweaked version of Jamie Oliver’s recipe

3 small courgettes, grated

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 handfuls freshly grated parmesan cheese

2 eggs

1 egg yolk

1 handful fresh chopped parsley

a little oil (for coating the pan)

Grate your courgettes on a fairly large … er… use the big holes, not the little ones. This is the hard part: getting all the water out. I pressed — HARD — with several layers of paper towel (only because I don’t have any clean dishtowels left. I promise I’m not so un-green!) on either side of the courgettes to try to get rid of all the water.

Dump what’s left into a bowl, then add all the remaining ingredients (except for the oil for the pan). Give it all a good mix, breaking all three yolks and stirring them in well.

Heat a pan on med-high heat and drizzle a little oil in the pan. Using a fork, add hunks of the mixture to the pan and cook until they’re golden-brown on each side, flipping as necessary.  Jamie suggests you use a higher temperature setting to achieve a golden crust while keeping the inside soft and almost (but not quite) gooey. Mmmm!

