Bundle O’Blueberry Scones

by Fresh and Frugal

Dare I say it again? It feels like autumn is finally here. Though it seems like it will be a browner fall than red or orange, that’s fine with me. Last week was (hopefully) the last real scorcher, giving way to a beautiful Saturday that didn’t dare dip its toe above eighty degrees. While this coming season is my absolutely favorite — Meg Ryan’s “bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils” springs to mind — I am almost ashamed to admit that I panicked.

What?! No! I haven’t had a chance to get to the shore yet, and I wanted to go camping with Terra, and take Kitty to the park! Where did the time go? What about all those berries?! My parents have a blueberry bush in the back yard and during my brief trip home (why didn’t I bring some of those berries back with me?!), I would detach a few from the bird-picked bush and pop them straight into my mouth. There’s nothing in the world like eating fresh blueberries in the overgrown, soft bluegrass in bare feet.

In honor of my parents’ yard and in my desperate attempt to cling to summer, I sifted through all the blueberry recipes I could find and promised myself not to buy the berries unless they were a reasonable price (thank God they were!), finally settling on blueberry scones, to take with me to work. Assuming, that is, I don’t eat them all tonight.

Bunch O’Blueberry Scones

2 c flour

1/3 c sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

5 tbsp butter (chilled and chopped into pieces)

1 1/2 c blueberries

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 c milk or cream

Cinnamon and coarse sugar for sprinkling

Preheat to 400 and line a pan with parchment paper.

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.

Chop and add the chilled butter. Continue mixing.

Gently fold in the blueberries

Gently beat the egg into the cream and vanilla in a separate bowl.

Mix the egg-mixture into the dry mixture and stir just enough, until the dough starts to come together. Don’t mix it too much, or your scones will be heavy.

Move the dough onto a lightly floured surface and continue to knead a few times, then pat into a circle and cut it in half, then each half into 4 pieces so that you have a total of eight triangular pieces of dough.

Move to the baking sheet and top with cinnamon and coarse sugar.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out cleanly.

