Mushy Magic

by Fresh and Frugal

One mention of them, and my friend Ben is sent into a maddening spiral of chanting. I don’t eat them at every meal, but I do love me some. Beans, that is. Unfortunately, I blanked on picking up s’more garbanzo beans this past weekend and all I had in the cupboard was a can of black beans. Not that there’s anything wrong with those, but they make me think of mexican food, not what I was craving.

On hot summer days, the lowest maintenance and maybe most delightful meal I can make, without having to necessarily heat anything, is composed of a little olive oil, salt, chick peas, and lemon. If it’s around, I’m happy to throw in an herby handful of parsley or a couple pinches of chives. As a sort of ode to the end of summer, I give you: The Magical Fruit.

Mushy Magic

1 can chick peas/black beans

1/4 lemon (just the juice)

half glug olive oil

sprinkling of salt

pinch of chives and/or parsley and/or red pepper flakes and/or other… thing

Drain and rinse the beans, and toss them into a bowl.

Mash ’em.

Squeeze the lemon over ’em, and give ’em a quick dash of olive oil.

Sprinkle the herbs and salt in. Give it a mix.

Slap it on some toast, pita, or chips and you’re good to go.

PS – these look much better when they’re made with chick peas.

