Asparagus Tart

by Fresh and Frugal

Since starting at Temple, I’ve learned a myriad of very important things. First of all, other graduate students (for the most part) aren’t your worst enemies — professors who despise your discipline are. Also, sometimes, retail therapy really is effective. Not everyone on the East coast is out to get me. Food really does bring friends out of the woodwork, though most of the people you’d invite over to eat your food are actually your best friends anyway. Last but not least, you should see your good friends as often as possible. This is something I’m still working on.

So tonight, Sarah came over for a little dinner. She eats about as much as my cat does in an hour (not much), so I could not heap gobs of pasta, tomatoes, basil, cheese, bread, etc. onto her plate and still expect her to finish it. I could, however, make something smaller, fairly simple, and absolutely delicious.

There’s really not much to tell right now. I’m still reeling from Thanksgiving and rushing to finish three term papers, all of which are due on the same day, while eagerly anticipating that which comes after those papers are handed in. Why does it never feel like the holiday season until Christmas (etc.) is practically upon us? I wish I could fast forward to the 20th, and then put on the brakes to make all the cookies, all the dishes, donate my time at a soup kitchen, wrap all the presents, visit with all the friends and family, make and send all the cards and gifts… But alas! There’s never enough time. Maybe that’s why this coming holiday is such a special time, anyway.

Asparagus Tart

1 bunch thick-stemmed asparagus

1 package puff pastry

3/4 c Gruyere cheese, grated (I substituted with the remarkably cheaper Parm-Reggiano)

pinch of salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 400.

Defrost the pastry and roll it out (if necessary).  Score an inch-wide border around the outside of the pastry, and prick the inside of the rectangle with a fork (about one stab per inch, but I went a little overboard). Pop into the oven for 10-15 minutes, or until the pastry is golden-brown.

Take out, sprinkle with the grated cheese, and after cleaning and removing the bottom of the asparagus stalks, lay them top-to-tail beside one another, atop the cheese. Place back into the oven for another 20 minutes or so. Remove, cut, and enjoy.

