Asparagus and Artichoke Dip

by Fresh and Frugal

Do you ever go to the grocery, so incredibly eager to grab a handful of ingredients and dash home to whip up oh-my-god-its-so-good-food? Now, do you then forget one of the integral ingredients? I do this all the time. Thus, new recipes are born. Well, sorta new. Not really. I just make do.

Another issue I’ve recently developed: I don’t like measuring cups. What’s the point? It’s just gonna get all icky, and then you have to clean it between each measure? If you’re not baking, it will all taste basically the same if you just eyeball it, right? That’s what I did here, and I’m kicking myself for not making this instead of the asparagus tart the other night, when Sarah came over.

Oh, and before I forget: Get the vegetables for this frozen, especially the artichokes. You get more for your money, and there’s no pesky olive oil to mess with the dip’s texture. Also, this is one of those recipes where the more parmesan is used, the better.

Asparagus and Artichoke Dip

1.5 c artichokes

1-2 c asparagus, cut into bite-size pieces

1/3 c parmesan cheese

1/4 c mayonnaise

1/4 c sour cream

6 oz cream cheese

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp salt

 

Defrost and cook the artichokes and asparagus as directed on the package.

Mix the parmesan, mayonnaise, sour cream, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, and salt together in a bowl.

Soften the cream cheese (1-2 minutes in the microwave) and add it to the mixture.

When the veggies finish, drain and drop them into the mix. Mix them in.

That’s it! If you like your dip hotter, add it to an oven/microwave-safe dish and stick it in the oven for 10 minutes at 350, or into the microwave for 4 minutes or so.

