Deb’s Chickpea Salad

by Fresh and Frugal

Y’know how sometimes you just get in a funk? Maybe you’re more quiet and reserved than usual, or maybe you’re a little more bummed than you’d like. Maybe you’re frustrated with a problem you just can’t seem to work out, no matter from which angle you approach it. Well, welcome to my world as of late. When this is how it goes, there is only one thing left to do: make stuff.

One of my artist friends jokes that “God must have been having one hell of a bad week when she spun everything into existence,” and I think I can sympathize. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to cook much recently, but any time I do, I feel so much better. It’s the tangible evidence of accomplishment I think, and even if it didn’t turn out quite as I had intended or expected, if it’s halfway decent and edible, I’m one happy camper again.

Things have been quiet on Fresh and Frugal lately because I’ve been a busy little bee. Forgive me? Between getting a new car, Christmas, mom’s birthday, new years, driving to Chicago, and now nursing a wisdom tootless brother on the couch, things have been a little scattered. Hopefully the last two weeks of my holiday break will be much more… blog-friendly. Here’s to hoping you have had a relaxing, delicious holiday.

Chickpea Salad

1 can chickpeas

1/4 c red onion

1 small can sliced black olives

1 large handful chopped fresh flatleaf parsley

2 glugs of good extra virgin olive oil

3/4 c halved cherry tomatoes

1 lemon (juice only)

1 tsp yellow curry powder (add more if you like)

1/2 tsp cayenne powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 pinch of cumin

sprinkling of salt and black pepper

Combine in a large bowl. Chill and serve cold, or mash the chickpeas before mixing for a more hummous-y concoction (and one that will stay on toast more easily).

