Roasted Purple Carrots

by Fresh and Frugal

Remember that purple potato goop called purple potato and leek soup? I swear it tasted so much better than it looked. Well, I’m on to purple carrots, now. Alright, so they’re not purple all the way through, but that just adds a gorgeous sunburst to the equation. There’s not much to say on this front, except that these are ever so slightly spicy, and ought to have fresh slices of avocado added (oh that green color), but for $3 a pop the last time I saw them, they had to be left out this time.

Hopefully they’ll be cheaper in August, as almost all lovely produce is. For right now though, spring is still yawning and stretching in Philadelphia. It’s all I can do to eat a grapefruit for breakfast — that bright splash of brilliant orangey-pink first thing in the morning, the snappy citrus making a much better wake-up call than coffee could do. It also makes me want to take a shot at a recipe for orange-butter I spotted over at The Kitchen Sink last late-winter-slash-early-spring. The color, the citrus… It just screams hurry up and sprout! to spring. I just can’t wait for the bright green snap peas, the dreamy-purple chive blossoms, and brilliant red rhubarb.

I have to apologize (again, s’more) for the rare posts. I’d love to tell you I’m out living life to the fullest, running from one falling star to another (thanks Kerouac), but I’m holed up, writing presentation papers in every waking moment. I can’t complain, though — already I realize how much I’ve learned about the Bronze Age Aegean during my first year in grad school, and can’t wait for the chance to see the sites in person this summer. Oh, and look at my little daisies coming up!

 

Roasted Carrots

1 lb purple carrots (they can be expensive, so I went half purple and half orange)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lime

2 sprinkles cumin

1 sprinkle red pepper flakes

salt to taste

 

Preheat the oven to 400.

Peel the carrots and slice them into relatively thick little stumps. 1/2 inch, maybe.

Toss the carrots, olive oil, and spices together in a bowl so the carrots are well-coated, and lay them out on a baking sheet.

Slip the sheet into the oven for 20 minutes or more, until the carrots are tender.

Juice the lime and toss the juice over the carrots. Eat while warm!

 

Tip: If you grab an avocado, slice it up and add it to the top of the just-roasted carrots, then toss on the lime juice.

