First Frittata

by Fresh and Frugal

Image

The weather here is torturous — completely and absolutely torturous. No, there’s no snow or ice on the ground. I’m not snowed in. I’m not stranded. My heat is working just fine, and my television hasn’t been cut off (yet). Rather, it’s frigid outside and the wind is beyond blistering. It’s been this way for days and we both know what happens when it gets this cold: I want to eat everything. My poor conservation coworkers have to listen to that mantra over and over and over again. I want to eat everything.

Yesterday, I woke up and decided that it was high time to put one of my favorite Christmas presents to good use: my cast iron frying pan. Of course, on the drive back to Philadelphia, my grandmother admitted to having three of them, each heavily seasoned, which I would have loved so much more than getting my hands on a brand new pan… But don’t take that to mean that I’m ungrateful for the one my brother bought for me. Hardly. I couldn’t wait to use it! Thus, an unwarranted trip to the grocery to pick up some avocados and cottage cheese.

Image

I was knackered after a short walk to the store, lugging home a $50 load of fresh food (how some people can pass over fresh food at its peak absolutely baffles me). I whipped up a batch of guac with the surplus of fresh avocados I purchased (80 cents for six not-quite-rotten fruit), and settled into the couch to go through my hoarded magazines from the past year, ripping out my favorite images, articles, recipes, and advice, so I could pitch the rest. Thus, yesterday was not a good day for making a frittata. It was, however, the perfect day for reading, deep-cleaning the apartment, organizing, tidying, and movie-watching. Passing out in a clean bed with a book in hand around 2 am was most definitely well earned, I think.

Image

But this post isn’t about how lovely and productive I am, is it? Well, not necessarily. I don’t have much to say about this first blind stab at making a frittata, aside from a strong insistence that one use a clean broiler for the last step. All too late, I realized that the previous tenant had never cleaned the shelf in the broiler, where she had made some sort of awful, oily, fish-based thing. There was smoke everywhere, a terrified cat huddled under my desk to watch from a safe distance, and a great deal of mid-morning cursing.

In the end, I managed to wiggle the shelf out and rest the pan on the very bottom of the broiler (the heat source comes from above in this one). It’s a little over-done, but it’s certainly a beginning. Hopefully the frittata planned for next Sunday will go considerably better.

Image

First Freaking Frittata

5 eggs (with yolks)

3 egg whites

1/4 cup cottage cheese

4 spring onions/scallions

6 mushrooms (clean, thinly sliced)

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the broiler and warm the cast iron (or other stove- and oven-safe container) skillet with olive oil on medium heat.

Whisk together eggs, egg whites, and cottage cheese.

Add scallions, mushrooms, salt and pepper, and cook on stove until eggs begin to set (3-5 minutes).

Relocate to broiler, until the frittata appears to cook through and the top begins to brown just a touch (another 3-5 minutes).

Remove from broiler and use a flexible spatula to separate the egg from the edge of the pan. Slice into wedges and serve.

Important Note: If you have a glass-top stove, do not use a cast iron skillet! You will ruin your stove! Use an oven-safe stainless steel pan, or something similar.

