Vanilla Bourbon Dipping Sauce

by Fresh and Frugal

Image

I have a dirty little secret for you, and I’ll give you just one guess what it’s about. A while ago — a long while ago — I made Peach Bourbon Hand Pies a la Deb (yet another Smitten Kitchen creation). Lately, I’ve been into roasting the living buh-jee-vas out of vegetables. Put ’em together and whaddaya get? Sweet potato fries with a sinful vanilla bourbon dipping sauce.

Image

Okay, okay. So I didn’t come up with that on my own. Two weeks ago, a friend and I went to Iron Hill brewery for lunch. After two failed attempts at getting our order straight, our cute (but very Jersey Shore) waitress smacked her gum and dropped off a plate of three dipping sauces, on the house. My friend is rather charming, you see. The first one: jalapeno something-or-other. Not impressive. Up next? Smoked Paprika Mayo. Alright, but bland. Finally? A meek, beigey-creamy goo, barely darker than the color of the ramekin. His mouth fell slightly open, the way it does when he sees a painfully attractive woman. “What… What is this? … This… is… delicious!” Between nearly-open-mouthed chewing. The waitress came back. He wanted more. And more. And more. Two days later, we went back. For more.

Image

He wheedled the ingredients out of her, but not the proportions, and I’ve been working on it ever since. This recipe’s a little slap-dash (in the cooking sense), if you know what I mean. It took almost three weeks, but here it is. I hope you enjoy it as much as my friend and I do.

Image

Vanilla Bourbon Dipping Sauce

1/2 cup mayo (make it light, or go halfsies with greek yogurt to make it healthier)

3-4 tbsp prepared bourbon (cook away the alcohol, or add an extra tbsp or two if raw)

1 tbsp maple syrup

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp molasses (maybe a little less…? To taste, lets say.)

A quick sprinkle or two of cinnamon

Dash of sea salt

Prepare the bourbon if you’re going to do that. It tastes best that way.

Mix that stuff together.

Dip!

Sweet Potato Fries

2 small sweet potatoes

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 400.

Slice the sweet potatoes into chips or fries, just make sure the pieces are approximately uniform, so you won’t have some pieces overcooked and some undercooked.

Toss the pieces in a bowl with the salt and olive oil, and then lay them flat on a baking sheet.

Bake for 15 minutes, flip, and bake another 15 minutes.

Cool for at least one minute before serving. Those boys are hot!

Note: I think this would be absolutely delicious on french toast, pancakes, waffles, toast, fruit… almost anything. 

